crabby cakes

crab cake

Wow.  When I logged back on to this blog, it made me realize it’s been two years since my last post. TWO.  Years.

Last week, I was making home made chicken pot pie pockets, and i got all food photography blog nostalgic.  And now here I am.  I’m back! With a twist…

After each post, I would like for you to give me suggestions, if you want.  Give me something to make, bake, eat!  I will pick a dish or what have you for my next post.  My sister’s first suggestion was key lime pie.  Clearly with my crab cake post, she got denied.    Hi, sis!

On to crab cakes…

crab cakes

I’ve never made them before.  But I love ’em!  One of my best friends, Sarah, suggested I make them, and I was immediately intrigued.  Apparently there’s two schools of thought on crab cakes: to add bread crumbs in the mix, or to not.  I… did not.  I kept it pretty simple with spices, and decided to only add a tiny amount of shallots and roasted garlic.  Then it’s all a matter of mixing the ingredients, and shaping them into patties.  Dredge them in a little flour (I used pecans), and either fry or bake them!

crab cake

crab cakes

Pecan-crusted Crab Cakes

(adapted from Mark Bittman)

makes 9 ice cream scoop size cakes

1lb lump crab

1 tbsp mustard (dijon or stoneground or just mayo)

1/3 cup minced shallots

1 clove minced garlic

1 tsp Old Bay seasoning

Salt and pepper to taste

2 tbsp flour

1 egg

Dredging flour (nuts or breadcrumbs)

1. Mix crab, mustard, shallots, garlic, salt, pepper, old bay, flour, and egg in a bowl.  Cover and put in freezer for 5 minutes

2. Scoop mixture onto cookie sheet and slightly flatten.  Cover and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

3. If baking, set oven to 400.  If frying, put canola oil and butter into pan over medium heat.

4. Take cakes and dredge them in flour. then drizzle a bit of oil and bake for 20 minutes. After, you might want to put the cakes under the broiler for a few minutes until they are golden brown.  Or you can fry them for 3-4  minutes on each side.

Leave a Reply

